Next update , Last Updated

New: See the year-end homicide report.

The Denver homicide report

Homicide crime stats, charts, data, rankings, maps and news for the City of Denver and its neighborhoods. Last updated Monday April 22nd.

Note: This list of reported homicides from the Denver Police Department may be incomplete*.

Denver homicides are down in the past 30 days (7) compared with the 30 days before that (8), and down since the start of this year when compared to the same time period last year.

  • Denver has had 20 homicides reported so far this year, an average of 5.4 per month / 0.2 per day.
  • In 2023, Denver averaged 6.0 per month, and the year before that (2022) Denver averaged 6.4 per month.
  • The most homicides any neighborhood in Denver has had in 2024 is East Colfax, with 2.
  • The average number of homicides per neighborhood this year is 0.26.

Denver’s homicide rate

In 2024, Denver's homicide rate’s 0.1 crimes per 1,000 residents. See the crime rate for the rest of Denver's crimes.

Featured: Denver's big-picture crime trends map.

Denver neighborhood map, homicides per 1,000 residents, 2024

Reported homicides per 1,000 residents. Hover over or tap a neighborhood for details.

 

Denver homicide statistics

Monthly reported homicides in Denver

Homicide crimes, by time of day

What time reported homicides happen in Denver.

Homicide crimes, by weekday

The day of the week reported homicides happen.

New: Sign up for weekly email updates.

New: Recent crime ranking changes in homicide

There were 3 notable ranking changes in these crime categories when comparing the rankings four weeks ago to the current rankings. This list updates Mondays. The lower the rank the worse the reported crime.

Featured: The best and worst neighborhoods for homicides.

Homicide rate, Denver, 2024

  1. City Park West: 0.44 per 1,000 residents (2 incidents total)
  2. Jefferson Park: 0.35 (1)
  3. Indian Creek: 0.28 (1)
  4. Valverde: 0.27 (1)
  5. Goldsmith: 0.19 (1)
  6. East Colfax: 0.18 (2)
  7. Whittier: 0.17 (1)
  8. College View / South Platte: 0.14 (1)
  9. Ruby Hill: 0.09 (1)
  10. Marston: 0.09 (1)
  11. Harvey Park: 0.08 (1)
  12. Windsor: 0.07 (1)
  13. Mar Lee: 0.07 (1)
  14. Capitol Hill: 0.06 (1)
  15. Central Park: 0.06 (1)
  16. Gateway / Green Valley Ranch: 0.03 (1)
  17. Montbello: 0.03 (1)

Show more

Homicide count, Denver, 2024

  1. East Colfax: 2 incidents
  2. City Park West: 2
  3. Capitol Hill: 1
  4. Windsor: 1
  5. Central Park: 1
  6. Jefferson Park: 1
  7. Mar Lee: 1
  8. Gateway / Green Valley Ranch: 1
  9. Valverde: 1
  10. Ruby Hill: 1
  11. Montbello: 1
  12. Whittier: 1
  13. Indian Creek: 1
  14. Harvey Park: 1
  15. College View / South Platte: 1
  16. Goldsmith: 1
  17. Marston: 1

Show more

Recent Denver homicides

  • Homicide by other means, Friday Apr 12, 10:31 PM, at 3827 N Lafayette St in Cole.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Apr 6, 6:40 PM, at the 2100 block of N High St in City Park West.
  • Homicide by other means, Sunday Mar 31, 8:54 PM, at the 1500 block of N Downing St in City Park West.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Mar 30, 6:52 PM, at the 2900 block of N Gilpin St in Whittier.
  • Homicide by other means, Friday Mar 29, 6:30 AM, at 1640 S Federal Blvd in Ruby Hill.
  • Homicide by other means, Wednesday Mar 27, 8:04 PM, at the 1500 block of N Spruce St in East Colfax.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Mar 16, 9:22 PM, at 4040 N Quebec St in Central Park.
  • Homicide by other means, Monday Mar 11, 2:40 AM, at the 1800 block of S Quebec Way in Indian Creek.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Mar 9, 10:19 PM, at 4780 E Evans Ave in Goldsmith.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Mar 2, 7:32 PM, at the 2700 block of W Iliff Ave in College View / South Platte.
  • Homicide by other means, Friday Mar 1, 11:19 PM, at the 4900 block of N Ursula St in Montbello.
  • Homicide of a police officer w/gun, Friday Mar 1, 9:13 PM, at 450 N Federal Blvd in Valverde.
  • Homicide by other means, Sunday Feb 25, 1:33 PM, at 8555 W Belleview Ave in Marston.
  • Homicide by other means, Friday Feb 23, 3:20 PM, at the 400 block of S Quebec St in Windsor.
  • Homicide by other means, Wednesday Feb 14, 3:04 PM, at the 700 block of Water St in Jefferson Park.
  • Homicide by other means, Sunday Feb 4, 1:30 AM, at 5068 N Orleans Ct in Gateway / Green Valley Ranch.
  • Homicide by other means, Friday Feb 2, 12:29 AM, at 1460 N Xenia St in East Colfax.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Jan 27, 6:41 PM, at W Mississippi Ave and S Federal Blvd in Mar Lee.
  • Homicide by other means, Tuesday Jan 2, 12:50 PM, at 1290 N Washington St in Capitol Hill.
  • Homicide by other means, Monday Jan 1, 1:31 AM, at 2596 S Zenobia St in Harvey Park.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Dec 30, 1:28 AM, at 4888 W Colfax Ave in West Colfax.
  • Homicide by other means, Sunday Dec 10, 11:54 PM, at the 100 block of N Federal Blvd in Valverde.
  • Homicide by other means, Thursday Nov 30, 6:45 PM, at 6825 E Iliff Ave in Goldsmith.
  • Homicide by other means, Thursday Nov 30, 6:22 PM, at the 800 block of N Gaylord St in Cheesman Park.
  • Homicide by other means, Monday Nov 27, 8:46 PM, at 2930 W Cornell Ave in College View / South Platte.
  • Homicide by other means, Thursday Nov 23, 10:42 AM, at Park Avenue west and Lawrence St in Five Points.
  • Homicide by other means, Monday Nov 20, 3:48 PM, at 2101 15th St in Union Station.
  • Homicide by other means, Friday Nov 17, 4:53 PM, at Blake St and Park Avenue west in Five Points.
  • Homicide by other means, Monday Nov 13, 9:25 PM, at 7100 E Mississippi Ave in Washington Virginia Vale.
  • Homicide by other means, Sunday Nov 5, 3:09 AM, at 5514 E 33rd Ave in Northeast Park Hill.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Nov 4, 3:11 PM, at 2180 Stout St in Five Points.
  • Homicide by other means, Wednesday Oct 18, 2:45 AM, at 3227 S Parker Rd in Kennedy.
  • Homicide by other means, Wednesday Oct 18, 1:00 AM, at the 2300 block of Arapahoe St in Five Points.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Oct 14, 1:37 AM, at 12445 E 39th Ave in Central Park.
  • Homicide by other means, Thursday Oct 12, 3:18 PM, at E 5th Ave and N Dallas St in Lowry Field.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Oct 7, 10:24 PM, at 3629 N Franklin St in Cole.
  • Homicide by other means, Tuesday Sep 26, 6:28 AM, at the 1600 block of S Julian Way in Mar Lee.
  • Homicide by other means, Thursday Sep 21, 1:07 AM, at the 1600 block of N Marion St in City Park West.
  • Homicide by other means, Thursday Sep 14, 9:53 AM, at W Regis Blvd and N Federal Blvd in Regis.
  • Homicide by other means, Thursday Sep 14, 2:00 AM, at the 3200 block of N Federal Blvd in Highland.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Sep 9, 12:36 AM, at S Platte River Dr and W Florida Ave in Overland.
  • Homicide by other means, Wednesday Sep 6, 12:00 AM, at I-70 west-bound and N Washington St in Globeville.
  • Homicide by other means, Monday Aug 28, 11:21 PM, at the 5100 block of N Logan St in Globeville.
  • Homicide by other means, Sunday Aug 27, 2:22 AM, at 22nd St and Arapahoe St in Five Points.
  • Homicide by other means, Monday Aug 21, 3:10 AM, at 15555 E 53rd Ave in Gateway / Green Valley Ranch.
  • Homicide by other means, Friday Aug 18, 5:40 AM, at 1850 S Sheridan Blvd in Mar Lee.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Aug 12, 1:56 AM, at the 1300 block of E 23rd Ave in Whittier.
  • Homicide by other means, Tuesday Aug 8, 9:42 PM, at 214 S Federal Blvd in Valverde.
  • Homicide by other means, Saturday Aug 5, 7:56 PM, at the 2300 block of W Cedar Ave in Valverde.
  • Homicide by other means, Thursday Aug 3, 6:25 AM, at the 1600 block of N Race St in .

* The Denver Homicide Report traked homicides through 2022.

New: Colorado state crime rate charts.

Denver crime maps

Denver crime trends map

The crimes trends map shows the change in crime counts and rates on a monthly and yearly basis.

Denver crime trends map

The Denver-city recent crime map

The recent crimes map shows where crimes across the city were reported in the last two or so months, and shows which addresses across the city have logged the most reported crimes.

Denver’s recent crime map

All city crime maps

Choose from neighborhood and crime-specific crime maps.

Denver crime map